Gender stereotyping??Why!??

I’m so pissed off with this stupid thinking of people.

A few days ago, there was this sports fest in our college and we were asked to  register our names for whichever sport we were interested in. People were so damn excited to get their names registered for cricket, the gentleman’s game.

My classmate approached me and asked:
Aren’t you playing?”
I was like, meh.
“Do you play basketball?”-no
“Do you play football?”-no
“carrom?’-no
“Chess??”-no

What kinda guy is a guy who’s not interested in games? What do you play, dude? How do you pass your idle time?

I said I play computer games and PlayStation games.

Seriously? Are you a kid??
Or are you a woman? Gay?

Seriously, what does it have to do with my gender and sexuality?

Yes, I’m a guy and I’m not into sports and games. I just like to lay on the couch and play videogames. These kind of gender stereotypes annoy me.
I do all the kinds of things guys do. I just am not into sports.
When I was a kid, I was not a good student (I still am not). So my classmates alienated me and never let me play with them.  Even my teachers were partial to my classmates. We were biased based on our financial background and since I couldn’t pay my school fees regularly, I was ridiculed. I felt insecure and avoided being with my classmates all the time. I once tried playing cricket with my friends. I couldn’t catch a ball. They made fun of me. Then came badminton. I was getting the hang of it, but my friend wanted to make fun of me using the game. He commented every time I hit the cock (shuttlecock, fellas), he passed on lame comments. I was fed up. I still play badminton but I’m not that interested. Every time I tried playing, I either failed to play properly or somebody discouraged me or commented on how I play.
This is the reason I was never interested in playing anything.

I love to run, jog, ride a bicycle, hiking and taking long walks. I am physically fit. (But really,really skinny.)
Coming back to the topic, is it really mandatory for men to be good at some sport???

What do you guys think?

7 Comments Add yours

  1. Jimmy says:

    Hi there! This post couldn’t be written any better!
    Reading through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He continually kept preaching about this. I will send
    this post to him. Pretty sure he will have a good read.
    I appreciate you for sharing!

    Like

  2. There’s nothing like men=sports. I tried football in school and lost the game by scoring in their goal 😉 Remember the movie Jaane Tu, Jaane Na, I would come close to the character of Jai Singh Rathore (I am lover not a fighter types) hahahahaha

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Kiersten says:

    Its such as you read my mind! You appear to understand a lot approximately this, like
    you wrote the ebook in it or something. I think that you could do
    with some p.c. to force the message home a bit, however other than that, that is excellent blog.
    An excellent read. I will definitely be back.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. GLGamer says:

    For a number of reasons, I was never really into outdoor type sports all that much. They never held my interest for very long, although fortunately they were never extremely forced upon me by my parents growing up now that I consider it. At least compared to others who expect their sons to be their “champ”, or whatever. My personal thoughts are, if you’re good at a sport and you love it, then that’s great, male or not. If not, and your passion and interest lies somewhere else, then that’s fine too. I grew up more into video games and the creative side of my mind, although admittedly I do enjoy bowling once in a while (just not very good at it at all to the point it’s a bit embarrassing in public 😛 ). A guy shouldn’t be forced to play cricket, or football, or basketball, if they really don’t enjoy it.

    The whole competitive aspect is another thing, (and I even see this in online gaming a lot) that makes me not as into sports either. Typically I’m not very competitive, and don’t see the appeal in putting someone down or insulting another person’s skill level either. It makes me think, “what’s the point of being ‘Top Dog’ if you’re hurting and putting everyone else down around you to be there?”.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m gamer too! I love Max Payne trilogy, Tekken series, and GTA. And yeah, you have a point there regarding the top dog and hey! Thank you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

