Just a man and his will to survive.

“Life ain’t easy, kid” he said in a deep, harsh voice, “it ain’t hard either.”

I just stood there, listening to him.

“My parents passed away when I was 12. My elder brother took care of me. Education was hard but being educated was necessary. I wasn’t a top scorer but I managed to pass my high school with decent grades.”

Huh! you say life’s hard and you have your brother taking care of you. He’s a highly paid government employee, now tell me that’s hard.” I said sarcastically.

“It isn’t hard when you have your brother taking care of you but it’s hard when he turns alcoholic and doesn’t give a crap about you. It’s hard when you have to earn for yourself to pay your college fee. I was 17 when I came to this city to do my bachelor’s. My grandparents were influential and got me a seat in a decent college. But my brother stayed there too. My grandparents had no male child, so they adopted him”

That’s good, you got company.”

“No,he’s got company. He loved a girl and he wanted her family to stay at his place as tenants”

That sounds romantic! (Romantic!? But how?) Did he get along with you?”

“No, he got me out of the house. He threw all my things out and I had to relocate. I worked at a gas station in the morning and at a general store in the evening to support myself. I had many sleepless nights and hungry days. Nobody gave a shit.”

“Is life really that hard?”

“No, kid. That’s when life gives you a chance. I wanted to grow. I wanted to show them I was worth something. But most importantly, I wanted to survive. I completed my bachelor’s degree and got a job in a reputed company. I was successful. I never looked back again.

As I told you,
Life ain’t easy but life’s not hard either.”

I stood there, lost in thoughts.
Money doesn’t matter,
People don’t matter.
There’s only one thing that matters.

The will to survive.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. theaustraliansojourner says:

    You do need the will to survive.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sometimes, it’s all we’ve got.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

