Why I write.

I’ve been writing for quite some time now and there are times when I have absolutely nothing on my mind.

My want to write is strong yet I have no idea on what to write .
When I came across the everyday inspiration blogging course,
I thought,
It’s time to get inspired!!!!

Here we go:

The topic for today’s post is
I write because...

I have no idea why I liked writing ever since I was in primary school. I had a friend who had so many books at his house that I spent hours in his room reading those books.
Then I wanted to buy some books for myself. That was when I was introduced to Panchatantra by my mum. It was my first book and I completed the 300 page book in a week.
(I read pretty slow)
Years passed and now I was in high school. I started reading books in my school library. I read almost every story book available but this one book intrigued me and that is Bram Stoker’s: Dracula.
The narration thrilled me and kept me interested until the end. I was continuously thinking about the story and how he had come up with the idea of how a man could become a vampire.

A few years later, I started reading Indian mythology and other Indian stories, most importantly The stories of Vikram and Betal, a collection of tales and legends within a frame story (a story within a story) originally written in Sanskrit by Somadeva in the eleventh century.
The story revolves around a legendary king Vikramaditya and a celestial spirit Betala. Each time the king tries to capture the spirit, it tells a story and ends with a riddle. If the king fails to answer the riddle, the spirit consents to remain in captivity. If the king is quiet even if he knows the answer, his head shall burst into a thousand pieces.

So, during this time, I was introduced to PC gaming and Prince of Persia: The two thrones caught my eye. The story was great, superb narration and the Dark Prince was awesome. When I finished the game, I don’t know why but I suddenly remembered King Vikram from Vikram and Betal. A thought struck my mind suddenly,

why not write a story based on the book and the game?

I shared my idea with another friend of mine and we both came up with a character based on Prince’s appearance and King’s character. We thought of a plot set in medieval India about a nomad who goes in search of treasures. (Silly right? I was a kid from high school, what do you expect?)

Though I couldn’t complete the book, that was a start. My love of writing started with that idea. I participated in English story writing competition in my school and won the first prize. The story was about the character I created with my friend.

As I grew up, I stopped reading story books and started reading comics. I quit writing and started sketching. I lost the habit pretty soon .

Now, coming to the present time,
I completely lost the habit of writing and sketching and my girlfriend was about to start her blog and I was damn excited. You can check her blog here.
I signed up for WordPress so that I could read her posts. I could’ve subscribed through email too, but I wanted to be a part of the blogging site she’s in.

Seven months have passed and I love her posts. I appreciated her and said that I wanted to write too. (I wasn’t serious, though.)
She said, “Pain connects people and you’ve been through a lot. Writing can be a reliever too.”

That provoked a thought in me but I wasn’t serious enough until she pushed me to start writing. I can’t believe I made 20 posts already!

So here I am and I feel good.

17 Comments Add yours

  1. republic day quotes says:

    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you writing this
    post and the rest of the website is very good.

    Like

  2. Jason says:

    Everyone loves what you guys are up too. Such clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve incorporated
    you guys to my own blogroll.

    Like

  3. Colette B says:

    Hallo Bharath, very nice blog you have created here and I’ve enjoyed reading a few of your posts and hope to return to browse and read some more. cheers.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for the visit, Colette! I appreciate it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. theaustraliansojourner says:

    I know I read this. Maybe you could share that story you won first prize for sometime on wordpress. Just a thought.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Kiersten says:

    Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your post
    seem to be running off the screen in Ie. I’m
    not sure if this is a formatting issue or something to
    do with browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to
    let you know. The style and design look great though!
    Hope you get the problem fixed soon. Cheers

    Like

  6. Kristen says:

    It’s appropriate time to make some plans for the longer
    term and it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this put up and if I may I
    want to recommend you some fascinating issues or tips. Perhaps you can write subsequent
    articles regarding this article. I want to learn more things approximately it!

    Like

  7. Amy says:

    I just could not depart your website before suggesting
    that I really loved the usual information a person provide for your visitors?
    Is gonna be back regularly in order to check out new posts

    Like

  8. John says:

    Hi, I read your new stuff regularly. Your humoristic style is awesome, keep up the good work!

    Like

  9. Bill says:

    I could not resist commenting. Exceptionally well written!

    Like

  10. Kristen says:

    I really like it when people come together and share views.
    Great blog, stick with it!

    Like

  11. That is awesome you won first prize! I started writing in 1990. I was 16. I hope to publish a book one day. Maybe you will too.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I am not planning on publishing a book but I’ll be waiting for yours😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I like that, thank you!

        Liked by 1 person

  12. kiwinana says:

    Great post. I think now you have started doing this 20-day course that you will have no problems continuing. Looking forward to reading your future writing.
    Have a great weekend.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you. I hope I keep up with the regularity. Once again thanks for the support. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

