A walk back home 

“Do you have to leave now? It’s too early. Please stay for a little while…” she asked.

He hesitantly picked his backpack up and walked out of the house.

“An hour more.. please?”

He leaned back and muttered, “As much as I hate it, I gotta leave. An hour more here and I’ll miss my last bus home.”

“But it’s hardly a 15 minute drive from here. That means you could walk all the way in 30.”

I gotta leave, babe. It was nice watching movies with you all day.

“Let me drop you off at the terminal..!”

The streets were illuminated by street lamps, the sky was dark and there was no one around. The couple walked towards the bus terminal slowly.

He walked close to her looking elsewhere, she moved closer, her hands slightly rubbing off of his.

“You could stay at my place tonight, you know, it’s too dark and it might be difficult to find a bus home.”

He looked at the sky and then at her face. He smiled at her and looked away. They soon reached the destination, the terminal.

“Ain’t no bus is gonna be here at this time of the night”, a homeless guy in the terminal said.

The couple walked away from him to a lonely corner and took the corner seats. “Please, God! Make him stay!” The girl prayed silently.

I’m gonna go use the restroom. You sure you’re gonna be fine here alone?

She leaned on him, so did he. They kissed passionately until the sound of the bus approaching interrupted them.

I’m gonna leave now. Take care.” He said and got into the bus.

She had to walk back home all alone at that time of the night. She never did that before. She was scared.

Half way home, she could see someone following her. She walked faster and so did he. She walked even faster and he started running towards her.

She stopped and looked back and saw no one.

“Thank God!” She muttered.

Chocolate with roasted nuts! Your favourite!” He yelled.

“Oh my god! It’s you, you asshole! You scared the shit outta me!” She yelled with tears in her eyes.

Do you really think I’d let you walk home alone at this time of night? I just wanted to see how badly you wanted me to stay.”     He lifted her up and carried her home.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. Aww…that was so cute. Amazing story 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wandering Soul says:

    This resonated with me so deeply. Have done this for someone (got down from the bus and gone back just to cheer them up) even though we weren’t a couple. Loved reading this. Beautifully narrated!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you😃
      You’ve done that? Whoa!

      Like

      1. Wandering Soul says:

        Yeah! He was shocked, said, “you idiot, how will you go back now.” Fortunately, it wasn’t that late, and we chatted for a few minutes and then he dropped off at the next stop. Got back to the hostel before my other friends who were in the first bus 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Haha!
          You sound adventurous!

          Like

          1. Wandering Soul says:

            People call it being crazy! Sigh. What do they know.

            Liked by 1 person

          2. You know what people are and how they can be! What can we even do but ignore😉

            Liked by 1 person

  3. Subhash says:

    Nice one, can you add a search in your blog as I could not found handicapped and I remember reading it, so I had to use this
    https://ridiculousbharath.wordpress.com/?s=handicapped
    and Bingo I found it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ll add the search tool!
      Thank you 😃

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Cezane & Michelle says:

    So beautiful… i loved this read ☺ – Cezane

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!
      I love your poems too!😃

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

