The anniversary.

“What’s taking him so long?? It’s just an Ice cream!” I groaned.

There’s no secret ingredient, right? I don’t feel like the ice cream is special but the day was. It was our anniversary. The day I proposed to her. She loves ice cream, I love her but I hate waiting.

The rain made the day even more special. Everything moved in slow-mo when I saw her giggling when she laughs at her own jokes and I laugh watching her be funny.

“Your Willy wonka ice cream is ready, sir

The waiter calls out my name.

I’m sorry, sir, there are no vacant seats upstairs. You gotta sit in the lawn outside.

We walk towards the lawn while the rain turned into a drizzle. It’s been a year and I haven’t gifted her anything yet. Time to take the ring out!

My first direct proposal!

I was nervous. I do tell her that I love her everyday but it was different this time. I took the ring out and asked for her hand.(I could’ve knelt, but I hesitated)

“So you’re gonna propose now! I want it to be special, something I can cherish all my life!” She smirked.

I held her hand, looked into her eyes and said, “I love you!”

“Say what?” She smirked again.

“I love you, ma” (I call her ma), I said.

“I need a proposal. Not a statement.”

“You know I can’t do this… I suck when it comes to romantic things. This is the best I can do.”

Girls can be so demanding sometimes.

“Look, I asked you for a decent proposal and here you are, making statements about what I already know. Have you ever seen a girl ask a boy for a proposal? Let’s do this again.”

Oh my God! She’s smirking again.

“Okay, here we go!” I said to myself.

“Ma, I wanna have a hundred more anniversaries with you like this. I know I can’t do it like they do in the movies but I really love you. Will you marry me?”

I blurted out, tensed.

“Now that’s a proposal! I love you more!”

The excitement in her eyes!

I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

(But you gotta admit, proposing is a tough task.)

This is the ring! She loves to show it off๐Ÿ˜


12 Comments Add yours

  1. The Hook says:

    There’s nothing ridiculous about true love, buddy.
    Now marriage?
    THAT’S ridiculous at times…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha!
      Marriage is always ridiculous. (As elders say)

      Like

      1. The Hook says:

        Listen to your elders, buddy.
        It’s worth it, but it’s nuts.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yes, master! ๐Ÿ˜

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Wandering Soul says:

    That was such a sweet story! Congratulations!!! P.S. What in the world is Willy Wonka ice cream? I wanna try that now ๐Ÿ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha.. thank you ๐Ÿ˜ƒ
      It’s a flavour they serve in ‘cream stone’. Visit an outlet if you have one nearby. It’s too damn good.๐Ÿ˜‰

      Liked by 1 person

      1. juggernautpanda says:

        I have never eaten ice cream. How does it taste like?
        Feed me.

        Like

  3. theaustraliansojourner says:

    If it is true and not a story congratulations! If it is a story and not true it’s good as if it is true. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It is true๐Ÿ˜ƒ and thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. theaustraliansojourner says:

        I am very happy for you both. ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

