“What do you think drives the world?” I ask people. Most say God, some say a supernatural power, some say it’s ‘us’,  a few said government and a very few said gravity. There are some people who hesitated and some even asked me to piss off. But the most persistent answer is God. The answer changed depending on people. Theists say it’s God, atheists said it’s science.

But What if I say belief is what drives the world? It may be belief in Oneself, belief in God, belief in religion, caste, creed, people, places, signs, symbols, idols or ideas. My grandpa once told me that in the ‘good old days’, people rarely went to doctors when they were ill. Heck, they hardly fell sick. Most of them prayed in temples to recover and used medicinal herbs while a few sick people visited a doctor. What do we see in both the cases? Belief. People who went to temple believed God would heal them and people who visited a doctor believed in a person. When I was a kid, I used to be sick all the time with frequent fevers and headaches. My grandmother took me to the temples often and asked me to pray to God for faster recovery. I also took the medication required. When the fever subsided, I thought it was because of medicines and my grandmother thought it was God’s grace. Either way, I was happy that I didn’t have fever anymore.

We believe in a teacher when we leave our kids with them at school. We buy a product because we believe it’s safe and useful. We marry a person with a belief that he or she would be the start of a new and bright life. We start something believing we’d achieve it and when we don’t, it’s the same belief that makes us try again. Every little thing we do, everything we say has only one thing in common. Belief. We do something only when we believe in it. I often hear people say, “it’s upto God”. It’s actually quite surprising how much we believe in God with not even a slightest bit of belief in ourself. We shouldn’t forget that

God helps those who help themselves.

When I was young, I believed that I’d do something great someday, something my parents would be proud of. When I looked at the stars, I believed that I’d be there someday. Now, even though I’m none of the things I’ve imagined myself to be, I still believe there’s something I have to do. I believe that there’s a reason why I’m here. It’s on us, what we believe and what we don’t.

You become what you believe.

Oprah Winfrey

Belief is something that tells us what’s right and belief is also something that disguises the wrong as right.

Choose wisely what you want to believe and follow what you believe. Most importantly,

Making people believe something is okay but forcing your beliefs is not.

2 thoughts on “Belief.

Leave a Reply

