It was 11pm. I waited for tyson at the staircase with a matchbox and some old newspapers. Looking at the ceiling, I wondered how Bruce Lee does what he does with nunchakus. I had watched Enter the dragon that evening and felt like Bruce Lee’s spirit possessed me. I started leaping around kicking and punching walls.

What the hell are you doing? Let’s go!” Tyson murmured.

We walked up to the terrace and sat outside the elevator machine room. We talked nonsensical things for a while and started running all around. We then played football for a while. As a kid, I was thrilled to sneak out of my house at night and play with my friend on the terrace. The residential complex we lived in was pretty big divided into three blocks A, B and C. It took us five minutes to one corner of the terrace to the other and there were shelters with block names on the terrace. We stopped at the C block and sat inside the shelter.

It was cold outside and we needed something to keep us warm. That’s why I brought the matchbox and some old papers for. Without a minute’s hesitation, I lit the papers up and we started talking about ghosts and stuff. Within the next two minutes, the fire spread around us and a black smoky figure crept behind us. Terrified, we ran downstairs, screaming.

I better go sleep beside my momma. That ghost can get here any minute.” Tyson said, shivering.

I nodded and walked back home.

Somebody burned our furniture we kept upstairs last night. Must be thieves!” I woke up to my neighbors yell the next morning, “I’m calling the police right now and file a complaint.

“So that wasn’t a ghost! It was just smoke!” I blurted out to everyone’s surprise.

4 thoughts on “Ghost of the smoke

Leave a Reply

