just my luck.

People were panicking when I entered the classroom. The practical exams were two days away and everybody was busy in correcting and completing their records to get them signed. I took my records out, four of them, and slammed them to my desk.

“The head of the department (HOD) is signing in the records of people who’re regular to college. Anyone who has an attendance percentage of 50 and less have to take the permission of the principal. Even then, there’s a probability that the HOD might reject your record.” Peter kept blabbering while I completed my record.

The records were complete and I had a feeling that nothing could stop me from getting my records signed. But my HOD had something else in mind. As soon as I walked into his office, I found all my professors and their assistants seated as if they were politicians sitting in Parliament.  

“Good afternoon, sire!” I smiled at him and walked forward.

“Aren’t you roll number seven?” Asked a professor in a sarcastic tone.

“Uhh. Yes, sir. Roll number seven.” I smiled at the professor while he looked at me like he’s seeing a theif who’s caught stealing his purse.

“I’ve never seen you in college. Why do you even expect us to sign your record?” The HOD growled like a bear.

“I’m sorry, sir. I want to be honest with you here. I’m not interested in this engineering and all this crap. Just sign my record for now, please.” I requested him.

“You’re stupid to even ask for it. I wonder why you aren’t detained yet. Don’t sign sir, send him out.” Another professor added.

“I’ll consider your request if you give me a rightful reason.” The HOD said.

“Sir, I don’t have any interest in becoming an engineer. It’ll take some time to convince my parents and drop out of this course. Please sign these records and let me write the exams so that I can buy some time for myself and sort things out.” I pleaded.

He made me beg for an hour before he asked me to go out.

“So you won’t do it. Then it’s a waste of time.” I walked out throwing my records aside. (I know that was too much, but I was young and I was pissed.)

The HOD ran to me and stood right in front of me.”Throwing books like that doesn’t make you a hero. You wanna fight, meet me after college, I’ll show you what I am. But this is not the way.”

“I’m sorry for that but I was tired of begging you. I’ve had enough.Don’t sign them, I don’t give a crap.”  I said while I stepped aside.

“Alright we’ll do one thing. You call the principal and ask him what to do. Tell him you aren’t a regular student.” The HOD smirked.

I dialed the principal’s number and the HOD explained the situation to him (and what an arrogant ass I’ve been).

“Let this incident slide. Just sign his records and get this over with.” The principal cut the call immediately.

8 Comments Add yours

  1. miralianna says:

    Years ago, I left my accounting major and went into applied art. What is your real area of interest.

    Like

      1. miralianna says:

        Aha! I finally went to a state university that had a design school: architecture, graphic design, interior design, landscape architecture, advertising design… LOVED it! Now much of that is computer-based and very technical. Your engineering background will help. (Part of my classwork included engineering drafting)

        Liked by 1 person

          1. miralianna says:

            Iowa State University. Crazy: known for engineering, it was ranked 5th most beautiful campus in the world this year.

            Like

  2. Grace Anne says:

    Haha. Should’ve seen that guy’s face. Damn

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha..
      It was a delight­čśé

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

