A visit to Bhongir fort

​The Bhongir fort was built in the 10th century on an isolated monolithic rock by the Western Chalukya ruler Tribhuvanamalla Vikramaditya VI. Why am I telling you this?? Well, I visited that place!! I’m not that into history and rulers but I got a thing for historical places and forts. I wonder how they lived in these forts without electricity back then.(Because it was freakin’ hot inside!) 

The place looked like a fort on a giant rock (monolithic, I know). We had to take the stairs that were small and our legs hurt while we went further. It was a sunny day and by the time we were halfway to the top, we emptied three water bottles, which is a big deal. I wonder how the soldiers used to go up and down, guard the palace and worst of all, bear the sun. The place was beautiful, perfect for going on hiking. We aren’t regular hikers but we love hiking.

This is what it looked like after going up the stairs and believe me, we were not even halfway through!

There were couples everywhere trying to get some alone time and kids who were on picnic. There was constant noise as the kids were yelling. I was quite surprised most of them owned a mobile phone which was a luxury for us when we were kids. People were busy taking selfies while we enjoyed the view. It was quite a hard task going up top as there were no stairs and we had to hold on to a railing to walk upwards.

I can’t say the architecture was very good because I have no idea what it is but I can say that the place is well built and bo doubt an impenetrable place for the enemies. The heat and the landacape would give people a tough time going up.

It took us an hour to reach the peak as we stopped a few times for taking some pictures. Though it was tiresome, the view from the top was totally worth it. Memories like these stay with us forever.

One of the best sunsets I’ve encountered.
10 Comments Add yours

  1. B-lake says:

    Nice Blog. We have a similar place in Texas called Enchanted Rock. Except there is no fort on Top. Nice photos!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Try uploading some pics. I’d love to dee that place!!

      Like

      1. B-lake says:

        Sure. I’ll do a blog post one of these days and post the picks. I should take another trip there with my dog Snoop and then I’ll have words to add.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Then do it ASAP!
          I miss your posts buddy.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. kiwinana says:

    Beautiful, a great accomplishments to be able to do something like that. Happy 2017 to you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!
      I hope you had a great start this year.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. juggernautpanda says:

    Take me to the museum.

    Like

Leave a Reply

