What do they want?

She didn’t love the person. She was in love with the feeling of being loved, she loved being a priority. 

– Bharath (yeah, that’s me!)

What do women want?

I wish I could answer that. If even Sigmund Freud didn’t know the answer, then don’t expect me to know it too (or anyone else). In all of my life so far, I’ve met a few women, yes, very few. Yeah, between one to five. Though I haven’t met much women, I’ve seen my friends and cousins struggle (mostly because of their own wrong doing and misfortune). I never bothered to ask what happened but I managed to hear what the problem of their girlfriends was and it’s spreading like an epidemic. I bet you have heard of this, it’s called ‘idk’. I don’t know, I don’t know.
I mean, I never knew that it was I don’t know until I encountered many such I don’t knows. The first girl I met wasn’t ready for a relationship. I asked her what she wanted and she said she didn’t know. I asked my cousin what she wanted to do after her engineering degree, the answer was ‘I Don’t know’. My friend’s girlfriend didn’t know if she wanted to marry my friend. Sometimes, it’s the parents they’re worried about. Sure, things can be talked out, sorted and concluded. When you don’t know what to do, you cannot talk, sort or conclude.

Another friend of mine was once heartbroken. He didn’t know what to do (what the heck!?). His friends asked his girlfriend what the reason for breakup was. She said her parents wouldn’t agree and she isn’t ready to elope. Yeah, that’s a bad idea when you’re jobless and your love is meaningless. They asked her if she could talk to her parents and convince them. Her answer? You guessed it right.

I know, things aren’t always simple but they’re not that complex either. Here in India, parents have the right over whom their daughters and sons have to marry, which is part good and part worse. It’s like you can do whatever you want to, marry whoever you want to until your parents like that or them. It’s like, it’s your life, your rules but you have to follow ours. Some parents don’t even hesitate to kill their own daughters in the name of honor killing (If you value your honor so much, try killing yourself first). Mostly due to this one reason, women hesitate to love or accept proposals. And then there’s another type of women who don’t know what they’re doing until they spiral down into the deep shit of their misdoings. They live in the aftermath and curse guys for not being good (at least you got someone to blame).

They take up engineering and end up as housewives (partly because of overprotective and doubtful husbands). Some don’t want to work because they can marry a guy who’s earning well so that they don’t have to worry about finances ever again. Love is just a fling today. I guess I’m moving away from my point, right? What can I do, everything is interconnected. Life is strange, the world is small. If you can’t think straight for yourself, don’t expect others to.

What do women want?

They want what they don’t know.

(Please don’t curse me)

Leave a Reply

